Home > Parish Council > Roles & Responsibilities of the Parish Council

Roles & Responsibilities of the Parish Council


There will be two Parish Council meetings each month commencing March 2020. The main meeting held on the first Wednesday of each month in the Thurston Community Library, Norton Road, Thurston will cover the statutory funactions of the Parish Council. The second meeting to be held later in the month on a  Wedneday of will be for the Committees of the Parish Council.

All Thurston residents are invited and encouraged to attend the meetings, with a Public Forum set aside during each meeting. The Parish Council meetings  start at 7.30pm and normally finish by 10.00pm. The draft minutes of Thurston Parish Council Meetings and Committee Meetings are uploaded onto this website within 4 weeks of the meeting being held.

General Power of Competence

At the Annual Parish Council Meeting held on 8 May 2019, the Council re-confirmed that it met the criteria which allowed it to be eligible to use the General Power of Competence.

Roles undertaken by Councillors

Councillors Dashper, Fawcett, Haley, Rainbow and  West are the members of the Policy and Resources Committee.

Councillors Dashper, Morris, Thurlbourn and West are the members of the Emergency Planning Committee.

As the Parish Council is the custodian trustee of the New Green Centre, 6 trustees are appointed by the Parish Council to the Trust which operates the centre. 

The play equipment installed and managed by the council and sited at both the New Green Centre and Heath Road is monitored by the Councillors of the Recreational Facilities Committee.

As the Parish Council is the Corporate Trustee for Thurston Recreation Ground, 5 Councillors have been appointed to the Recreational Facilities Committee to manage the playing field and pavilion at Church Road as well as the other community open space play areas in the village. Councillors Rainbow (Chair); Haley; Morris; Turner and West are the parish council appointed members of the committee. 

All Councillors are invited to attend the quartertly meetings of the Suffolk Association of Local Councils.

Councillor West represents the Parish Council on the Thurston Community College Forum and Councillors Fawcett and Haley on Thurston Library Group.

Councillor Morris represents the parish council on the Cavendish Hall Trust.   

Councillor Rainbow is the Council's Internal Audit Control Officer and carries out quarterly reviews of the system of internal control.

Councillors Dashper, Fawcett, Morris and West are the Parish Council's authorised signatories.

Councillor Barbara Morris is the Parish Council appointed Footpath Warden and Tree Warden.

Mrs Jannette Service & Mrs Irene Churchus are the Parish Council appointed Thurston Relief in Need Charity Representatives.

Councillor Barbara Morris is the Parish Council appointed Local Recorder for Thurston.

Delegated Powers

Powers delegated to the Clerk

Powers delegated under Thurston's Dispensation Policy


Terms of Reference for Council's Committees

Policy and Resources Committee

Recreational Facilities Committee

Contacting the Parish Clerk

The Parish Clerk can be contacted at the Parish Council Office between the hours of 10.30am and 4.00pm on Wednesdays and 10.30am and 3.00pm on Fridays.