Home > News > Network Rail - Overnight and Weekend Works: May 2021 - March 2022

Network Rail - Overnight and Weekend Works: May 2021 - March 2022

27 May 2021

Share this article:share on twitter share on facebook

Network Rail will be carrying out weekend and overnight works on the line between Bury St Edmunds and Elmswell over the coming months to maintain a safe and reliable railway. Network Rail apologise for any inconvenience caused. 

This work will involve the use of a High Output Ballast Cleaning (HOBC) machine which will remove worn ballast (the stones on which the tracks and sleepers sit) and replace it with new ballast. This is necessary to maintain a reliable base for the track to sit on. 

This sort of work has to take place when trains are not running, including during the night and at weekends, in order to maintain the safety of trains, passengers, lineside neighbours and railway staff. 

The HOBC train is half a mile long with locomotives at either end. When it is in operation there will be noise from the machines and associated lights. However, this is a moving work site and will cover around 1000 metres of track in a night. 

The train itself has an alarm to warn people that it is approaching them. As a result, some disturbance is unavoidable. However, every effect will be made to minimise any unnecessary noise, and those on site are briefed on working responsibly in the local community.

Works schedule:

Start date Start time End time End date Activity
Sat 29 May 23:50 07:45 Sun 30 May Preparation/ survey work
Sun 30 May 21:45 05:30 Mon 31 May
Sun 06 June 23:55 05:05 Mon 07 June
Mon 14 June 23:30 (daily) 05:30 (daily) Fri  18 June
Sun 20 June 23.55 05:05 Mon 21 June
Tues 22 June 00:40 04:40 Fri 25 June
Mon 26 July 23.30 (daily) 05:30 (daily) Fri 30 July  Preparation / survey & use of rail vacuum machine
Sun 01 Aug 00.15 07:45 Mon 02 Aug  Preparation / survey work
Mon 06 Sept 23:30 (daily) 05:30 Fri 10 Sept  Preparation / survey & use of rail vacuum machine
Tues 14 Sept 00.40 (daily) 04.50 (daily) Fri 17 Sept  Preparation / survey work
Mon 18 Oct 23:30 (daily) 05.15 (daily) Fri 22 Oct  Preparation / survey & use of rail vacuum machine
Sat 23 Oct 23:50 (daily) 07:45 (daily) Sun 24 Oct  Preparation work     
Sun 24 Oct 23.35 05:10 Mon 25 Oct
Tues 26 Oct  00.40 (daily) 04:50 (daily) Fri 29 Oct
Sat 30 Oct  23:50  07:45 Sun 31 Oct
Sat 06 Nov  23:50 07:50 Sun 07 Nov
Sun 07 Nov  23:59 05:00 Mon 08 Nov
Sat 13 Nov  03:20 07:50 Sun 14 Nov  Main HOBC train work
Mon 22 Nov 00:15 05:20 Mon 22 Nov Follow-up works
Sun 28 Nov 23:55 (daily) 05:30 (daily) Fri 03 Dec Preparation work
Sun 04 Dec 08:00 06:30 Mon 06 Dec Main HOBC train work
Tues 07 Dec 00:40 (daily) 04:40 (daily) Fri 10 Dec Follow up - on track machines
Sat 11 Dec 00:05 05:00 Mon 13 Dec Main HOBC train work
Sat 18 Dec 23:30 09:30 Sun 19 Dec Follow up - on track machines
Sun 19 Dec 23:50 05:20 Mon 20 Dec
Sat 25 Dec 23:30 09:30 Sun 26 Dec Follow up works
Sat 8 Jan 2022 23:50 09:30 Sun 09 Jan 2022 Follow up - on track machines & reinstate crossing
Sun 09 Jan 23.55 05:30 Fri 14 Jan Follow up - on track machines
Sun 15 Jan 23:30 09:30 Sun 16 Jan Follow up works
Sun 16 Jan 23:55 05:05 Mon 17 Jan Walkout
Mon 18 Jan 00:40 (daily) 04:50 (daily) Fri 21 Jan Follow up - on track machines
Sun 30 Jan 23:59 05:00 Mon 31 Jan Follow up works 
Mon  21 Feb 23:30 (daily) 05:30 (daily) Fri 25 Feb
Tues 01 Mar 00:40 (daily) 04:50 (daily) Fri 04 Mar Follow up on track machines 

Network Rail contact details & more information:

24-Hour National Helpline 03457 114111
Website networkail.co.uk/contactus