## THURSTON PARISH COUNCIL

Parish Council Office New Green Centre Thurston IP31 3TG

Tel: 01359 232854

e-mail: info@thurstonparishcouncil.gov.uk website: http://thurston.suffolk.cloud



Paper prepared by: Clerk to the Parish Council for noting at Parish Council Meeting: of 6th April 2022

Agenda Item 8c: Members to be reminded of the vacancies following appointments to Committees, Working Groups and Council appointed positions (which would usually be determined at the Annual Council Meeting for on 4<sup>th</sup> May 2022) at the meeting of 2<sup>nd</sup> March 2022.

Training can be offered on the subjects covered by each committee – details of training available can be found at the following link: <a href="https://www.salc.org.uk/training-2/">https://www.salc.org.uk/training-2/</a>. More specialised training can be obtained from outside sources.

1. Committees set up to deal with specific tasks with delegated powers for decision making noting that there may be recommendations that will still be submitted to and considered by full Council:

Committee	Current Membership
Policy & Resources Committee	Cllr. Christopher Dashper (Chair)
	Cllr. Bryan Rainbow
	Cllr. Julian West
	Vacancy
	Vacancy
Planning Committee	Cllr. Christopher Dashper (Chair)
	Cllr. Graham Balaam
	Cllr. Derrick Haley
	Cllr. Barbara Morris
	Cllr. Bryn Rainbow
	Cllr. Julian West

2. Committees set up to deal with specific tasks with reporting responsibilities to Full Council and no delegated powers:

Committee	Current Membership
Emergency Plan Committee	Cllr. Bryan Rainbow (Chair)
	Cllr. Barbara Morris
	Cllr. Julian West
	Vacancy
	Vacancy
Climate Awareness and Environment	Cllr. Hay (Chair)
Committee	Cllr. Sarah Cornell
	Cllr. Jonathan Grant
	Cllr. Barbara Morris
	Vacancy
	Vacancy

3. Committee set up to deal with specific tasks with limited delegated powers as well as reporting responsibilities to Full Council:

Committee	Membership
Recreational and Leisure Facilities	Cllr. Bryan Rainbow (Chair)
Committee	Cllr. Liz Bond
	Cllr. Jonathan Grant
	Cllr. James Hay
	Cllr. Barbara Morris
	Cllr. Julian West

4. Council approved the setting up the following Working Group to discuss infrastructure requirements of the village, remit of which is to be determined but will take reference from the Council's Parish Infrastructure Investment Plan and the adopted Thurston Neighbourhood Plan:

Membership
Cllr. Chris Dashper (Chair PC) Cllr. Bryan Rainbow Cllr. Julian West Richard Fawcett, Chair of the Thurston NDP Graham Dixon, Ex-Chair of the Thurston NDP Steering Group Representative from New Green Representative from Cavendish Hall Village Representative Village Representative

5. Representatives that sit on bodies outside of the Parish Council with reporting responsibilities to the Parish Council:

Appointment	Current Nominee
Cavendish Hall Trust Committee	Cllr. Barbara Morris
Friends of Thurston Library Group	Cllr. Derrick Haley Cllr. James Hay Vacancy
New Green Community Trust	Cllr. Liz Bond Cllr. Vacancy
	Council supported nominations: Mr Roger Bowden Mr Roger Smith Mr John Thurlbourn Mr Paul Wade
Thurston Community College Forum	Not meeting as of yet.
Suffolk Association of Local Councils	All Councillors are encouraged to attend the quarterly forums (held online)